Ah, February! The month of hearts and flowers and love. Valentine’s Day brings the opportunity to celebrate those we care about by showering them with gifts of thoughtfulness, and phrases of praise. We go out of our way to let family, friends, teachers, and coworkers know we appreciate them for all they do, whether for us specifically or our family in general. We search for the right words and reminders of their importance. But I can’t remember the last time I did something so giving for myself.

I ran across a saying, “Your health is your wealth,” yet I continue to neglect my body. I don’t feed it properly, get the rest required, or take time to experience the little joys in life presented each day. Can you relate? Do you put yourself last in line just like I do? Do you think less of yourself because of all you don’t do, or where you fall short?

Oh, I had grand plans to do all the normal New Year’s Resolutions – lose weight, exercise, spend wisely – and that went out the window about January 3rd. Same thing as last year, and the year before that. So when I thought about February, my birthday month, I realized I could begin my journey again. I could have a fresh start, and create reasonable goals, small steps. I’ve followed in my mother’s footsteps in that we go ALL IN, Katie-bar-the-door, go for broke! Yeah, and we fizzle out by attempting to do too much, too fast, in too big of a way.

I created a “Master List of Habits to Create,” and a “Master List of Projects to Complete,” and I have been pretty hard on myself for not following through with working on them regularly (yeah, improved self-talk is on the new habit list for later). But, you know, each day is a new opportunity to begin my journey again. Each morning brings a clean slate, and each evening a time for reflection on my successes. I’m not going to look at failures or perceived shortcomings. This month is about loving me, being good to me.

Starting today, I’m going to be good to me. I’m going to honor who I am by taking care of me in very simple easy ways.

  1. Walk around the block (if I choose to do more fine, but no pressure…did I say I signed up for a 10K in April?!?! What was I thinking!!!)
  2. Continue to organize my books, donating what I can to the local lending library (I’ve already donated almost a hundred and I STILL have so many to go through.)

So are you on board? Are you ready to begin your journey to loving you? I’d love to hear ways you’re going to begin your journey.

