This is a day to celebrate women and their accomplishments and to call attention to the inequity between men and women in pay, power, and position. But I’d like to consider a different aspect. Rather than the “outward” actions and accomplishments, I’d like to take a moment and look at what we do “internally,” how we value ourselves, how we function in our own life.

I consider myself honorable and trustworthy…with others. But, too often I treat myself without integrity. I would never do to others what I do to myself.  My family and friends can count on me when they are in need. Yet…I do not do the same toward myself. I tell myself I’m going to eat healthy, I’m going to exercise, and I’m going to have a quiet time to refresh myself. Unfortunately, I seldom follow through. I allow others, and other things to take precedent over what I said I would do for myself. I don’t keep my word to “me.” I couldn’t live with myself if I disappointed others as much as I disappoint myself. Yet, I continue to fail myself time and time again.

Celebration is defined as: to honor, to remind one of the origin and significance of the event, the action of marking one’s pleasure at an important event or occasion by engaging in enjoyable, typically social, activity. When have I ever honored myself, by taking care of the life I’ve been given? When have I celebrated how I treat myself? I’m afraid the answer is rarely, if ever.

As I celebrate the strides women have made, I’m committed to take those same hard fought strides to care for myself, to enrich my life through better health and wellness, physically and spiritually.

So, how is your integrity with yourself? What battles do you need to fight to become the wealthiest in health? The most powerful in physical, and spiritual strength? To have the position in life that will have others asking for your secret to peace?

Each day presents a fresh opportunity to keep your word to yourself. March on, sister. We’ve got this!

Is it time to talk to your child about body boundaries? My Body’s Mine, told through rhyme from a child’s point of view, helps children learn they have the rights to their body.

 

 

 

