When my path in life takes me to the edge…I JUMP! But it’s not what you think. In fact, coming to the edge doesn’t mean giving up. You just have to be willing to see the “vista of your future.”

Life is full of exciting twists and unexpected turns. If you told me four years ago I would no longer be at my company job where I had been for over thirty years, but writing full time, I would have said you were crazy. I had my next seven years mapped out. But events out of my control occurred, and I had come to the “edge” of my career…so I jumped!

I knew I needed to:

JUST BREATHE…I took time to stop and evaluate my options. Sure I could have stayed, but doing things as I had was no longer an option. Change was coming, but I was in control of my choices.

UNWIND EXPECTATIONS… For a time I grieved over what was supposed to be, but in letting go of those past expectations, a whole new path of opportunities opened.

MAKE ADJUSTMENTS…”The one thing that never changes is that there will always be change.” Now, opportunities and putting my lifelong dreams into action became an imminent option. No more delay, no more someday, no more I wish I could. I COULD.

PUT A PLAN IN PLACE…”Only dead fish go with the flow.” I created a plan and put the steps in place. Change was going to happen, whether I wanted it to or not, so now was the time for me to take action, not just sit by and see what would unfold.

TO SAFETY…Because I chose to JUMP toward my future, I knew I would land safely. Taking the proper steps insured I would follow a course leading to my desired destination. Like a safety on a gun which prevents inadvertent or hazardous operation, I took the appropriate actions to make sure my aim for the future was true, and I would hit my chosen career.

When I went skydiving I was fine until I looked down and saw my toes hanging over the side of that open door and there was nothing between me and the ground over ten thousand feet below. In that split second between the safety of the plane and the safety of being on the ground, I wondered what in the world I was doing. It was a tandem jump and I knew the guy on my back wanted to land as safely as I did, so…we jumped! What a blast! The force of the wind during the free-fall was unbelievable. When the parachute opened and jerked us upward, I sighed in relief. As we approached the ground, I followed his instructions and I literally “hit the ground running.” I had done it! Leaving my old job and skydiving were a lot alike. And landing safely to a new future meant I had to JUMP.

Endings are hard. But with each ending, there is always a new beginning. What beginnings are before you? Are you ready to JUMP?

Is it time to talk to your child about body boundaries? My Body’s Mine, told through rhyme from a child’s point of view, helps children learn they have the rights to their body.

 

