Hmmm…this blog title makes you stop and think, doesn’t it? If you spend all your energy on others eventually there will be nothing left of you to give, and then everyone suffers.

Too often I wasn’t a good example for my daughters because I busy helping others. I didn’t eat properly, exercise regularly, or take the time to replenish my soul. My goal was Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.37.03 PM.pngto care for and help someone else—to be the superwoman, the person others could call on to get things done. I was, but it came at a price. More times than I’d like to admit, I’d end up mentally crashing and hitting the wall physically by getting sick, depressed, and overwhelmed. I saw taking time for myself as selfish and self-serving.

But I’ve finally learned the truth. Remember the good ol’ Golden Rule? “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Apply that to yourself. Wow! That’s a different perspective, isn’t it? We want our children well fed and rested. We need to do the same for ourselves.

May is Mental Health Awareness Month. To be mentally fit, we have to take care of ourselves and meet our needs. I’m NOT saying meet all our wants! Sure, I’d love a massage and chef-prepared meals daily, with a regular clothes shopping day. But, let’s be real, that ain’t gonna happen! What I can easily provide for myself are ways to be mentally and physically better. And that starts with being intentional.

This month, each day I will be intentional about the following. None of it takes long, but I know it will be rewarding.

No one can take as good a care of me as I can.

SUNDAY – Seek a time of silence.

MONDAY – Make time to do something that gives me joy.

TUESDAY –Ten minutes of one on one time with my spouse and each child to deepen our relationships

WEDNESDAY – Walk in nature, even if it’s around the block for ten minutes—get outside! Vitamin D!

THURSDAY – Think about and evaluate my goals. Applaud my successes, no matter how small.

FRIDAY – Find time to pamper myself with a good book, hot bath, or face mask.

SATURDAY – Share laughter. It is good for the soul and extremely healthy!

So what do you do for others that you want to do for yourself? You deserve no less.

 

Front cover_Final-03 JPGKayla Marnach is the author of the Can Do Kids Series. Her newest book, I Can Do That! helps children learn self-regulating techniques. Told through rhyme from a child’s point of view, strategies are shared empowering the child to effectively learn and practice ways they can control their emotions and actions when they feel themselves becoming dysregulated. Order your copy today!

